The Artesia Historical Museum (aka Frampton/Dantema House) 18644 Alburtis Avenue, Artesia, CA The Artesia Historical Museum is housed in a 1929 home originally built by Art and Helen Frampton on Pioneer Boulevard in Artesia.
When the property was sold for commercial development in 2003, Wayne and Maria Dantema the last, and only the second owners of the home, expressed a desire to donate the house to the Artesia Historical Society. Rather than demolishing the home to allow for a commercial building planned for the site, the developer, Ajit Dudheker agreed to permit the house to be relocated and preserved.
The Artesia Historical Society partnered with the City of Artesia to relocate the structure using Los Angeles County Grant Funds designated for Parks and Recreation development. The house was relocated to a city park site at Alburtis and 187th Street.
The Artesia Historical Museum was built in the Spanish Style, including exterior stucco construction and a red tile roof. The original roof tiles were saved and re-used when the house was re-roofed in 2005. The house includes original hardwood floors, highlighted by the inlaid patterns of contrasting woods in the entryway. The large living room to the left of the entry, is the largest room in the house and includes an unusual arched ceiling and period fireplace. The clock in the nook of the fireplace is original to the house, as are the wall lighting sconces. The draperies mimic those originally chosen by the Framptons.
To the right of the entry is the dining room, which includes the original hand painted wood beam ceiling, chandelier and wall sconces. The small breakfast room between the kitchen and dining room has built in china cabinets and display nooks as were commonly found in the 1920s. A unique ceiling and moldings are also a feature of that room. The kitchen still utilizes the original cabinets and tile work. The kitchen stove and icebox are reflective of the
period but are not original to the house.
The service/utility room off the kitchen contains a back entry door, two large walk-in storage areas, a unique vented produce storage cabinet and built in ironing board. To the rear of the house off the utility room is a small room containing built in storage cabinets often found in a 1920s home. This room was “a family room” for the Framptons. The large bedroom to the left was the master bedroom and contains two closets, a rarity for the time.
The second exit from the master bedroom takes us to a long hallway reconnecting with the entryway. Off the hallway is the “elegant” 1929 bathroom utilizing the original tile work. The last room of the house, between the bath and the living room, is the guest bedroom, which contains an unusual closet with built-in cabinetry and a window.
The Artesia Historical Museum is open to the public on the second Saturday of each month from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, or by appointment for groups. Inquiries may be made by email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Artesia Historical Museum
(aka Frampton/Dantema House)
18644 Alburtis Avenue, Artesia, CA